2022 Indigenous
Skin Spectrum Summit

Saturday, June 11, 2022
10am–2pm ET

meeting agenda

Welcome & Learning Objectives

10:00am EDT / 9:00am CDT / 7:00am PDT

Closing the Gap: Indigenous Dermatology in Australia

10:10am EDT / 9:10am CDT / 7:10am PDT

Building a Priority Population Focused Dermatology Workforce

Dr. Rachel Pugh

10:35am EDT / 9:35am CDT / 7:35am PDT

A Review of Indigenous Dermatology in Canada

Dr. Rachel N. Asiniwasis & Trisha Campbell

10:45am EDT / 9:45am CDT / 7:45am PDT

Historical Context of Indigenous Health in Canada

11:05am EDT / 10:05am CDT / 8:05am PDT

Treatment of Skin Conditions by Indigenous People Prior to Colonization

11:15am EDT / 10:15am CDT / 8:15am PDT

Dermatology Basics for Richly Pigmented Skin Types

11:30am EDT / 10:30am CDT / 8:30am PDT

Dermatologic Disease in North American Indigenous Peoples: A Systematic Scoping Review

11:40am EDT / 10:40am CDT / 8:40am PDT

NIHB Coverage for Skin Conditions

Andrea Brewer, Indigenous Pharmacist

12:00pm EDT / 11:00am CDT / 9:00am PDT

Dermatologic Cases and Challenges in Remote Indigenous Communities

12:30pm EDT / 11:30am CDT / 9:30am PDT

The Role of Nurse Practitioners: Experience in a Remote Northern Indigenous Community

Rachel Johnson, RN(NP), BScN, MN

12:50pm EDT / 11:50am CDT / 9:50am PDT

Atopic Diseases and Barriers to Care in the Northwest Territories: Clinical Experience from an Allergist-Immunologist

Dr. Kun Tian

1:05pm EDT / 12:05pm CDT / 10:05am PDT

US Experience in Teledermatology, Alaskan Indigenous Communities

Dr. Anna Chacon

1:20pm EDT / 12:20pm CDT / 10:20am PDT

Wound Healing for Indigenous Patients

1:50pm EDT / 12:50pm CDT / 10:50am PDT

Diabetic Skin Complications in North American Indigenous Peoples: A Scoping Review

2:05pm EDT / 1:05pm CDT / 11:05am PDT

Photodermatoses in North American Indigenous Peoples: A Scoping Review

Dr. Gregory Kost

2:15pm EDT / 1:15pm CDT / 11:15am PDT

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Image by Haitham

conference faculty

RAsiniwasis.png

Dr. Rachel Nehate Asiniwasis

Dr. Rachel Netahe Asiniwasis is a board-certified Dermatologist currently operating her own practice in her hometown of Regina, Sask., and seeing a wide base of patients in southern Saskatchewan. Since 2015, she and her small team have expanded to service several remote and northern First Nations communities around Saskatchewan through a mixture of in-person and teledermatology clinics.

 

Dr. Asiniwasis is of Plains Cree and Saulteaux background on her father’s side, and her mother is an English immigrant. Her last name, “Asiniwasis”, translates into “Stone child” in oral Cree, and it has been passed down to her that her middle name, “Netahe”, means “my heart”. Her father is a residential school survivor of nine years, and one of her most recent passions is learning more about health care challenges in remote and First Nations populations and developing proactive approaches to these challenges through a Truth and Reconciliation framework.

 

Dr. Asiniwasis also has a Master’s degree in clinical and translational research, and with this background hopes to continue to advocate for underserviced populations in Canadian Dermatology. She is the founder of Origins Dermatology Centre based in Regina, Sskatchewan.

DSlape.png

Dr. Dana Slape

Dr. Dana Slape is a Fellow of the Australasian College of Dermatologists and graduate of Western Sydney University. She belongs to the Larrakia People of Darwin and based in Dharawal country in Southwest Sydney.

Dr. Slape provides dermatological care to priority populations in the remote tropical Northern Territory and urban areas of need in outer metropolitan Sydney. She is the first and only dermatologist for the Justice Health and Forensic Mental Health Network where she provides weekly visiting services for children, women, and men living in the 42 correctional centres across the state.

Dr. Slape's special interests are infectious and complex medical dermatology, which disproportionately impact Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples. Recently, she has started a PhD in access to dermatological care for adults, adolescents, and forensic patients living in incarceration. Dr. Slape is Australia’s first Aboriginal dermatologist, and she looks forward to being part of an innumerable network of Indigenous medical and surgical specialists in the future.

ABStonechild.png

Dr. A. Blair Stonechild

Dr. Alexander Blair Stonechild is Professor of Indigenous Studies at the First Nations University of Canada in Regina, Saskatchewan. He is a member of the Muscowpetung First Nation, attended Qu’Appelle Indian Residential School and Campion Collegiate, obtained his Bachelor’s degree from McGill, and Master’s and Doctorate degrees from the University of Regina.

In 1976, Dr. Stonechild became the first faculty member at First Nations University; he has been Dean of Academics and Executive Director of Development. Major publications include Loyal Till Death: Indians and the North-West Rebellion (1997); The New Buffalo: Aboriginal Post-secondary Policy in Canada (2006); Buffy Sainte-Marie: It’s My Way (2012); The Knowledge Seeker: Embracing Indigenous Spirituality (2016) and Loss of Indigenous Eden and the Fall of Spirituality (2020).

MWiseman.png

Dr. Marni C. Wiseman

Dr. Marni C. Wiseman began her Dermatology practice in Winnipeg, Manitoba in 2001. In addition to her teaching responsibilities as an Associate Professor and Section Head of Dermatology at the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Manitoba, Dr. Wiseman spends most of her days at her Private Medical Practice as the Medical Director of SKiNWISE Dermatology.

Dr. Wiseman’s areas of clinical and research interest include psoriasis, atopic dermatitis, hidradenitis suppuritiva, acne, and aesthetic dermatology. She is a Principal Investigator at Wiseman Dermatology Research and has participated in hundreds of clinical trials.

Dr. Wiseman is a frequent supervisor and mentor for medical students and residents. She has extensively published in areas of inflammatory skin disease, photodermatosis, and cutaneous malignancy.

Dr. Wiseman’s community commitments are extensive and include involvement with the Canadian Dermatology Association Sun Awareness program. She is an editor of the Journal of Cutaneous Medicine and Surgery, and was the chair of the Skin Cancer Disease Site Group at CancerCare Manitoba for 15 years. Dr. Wiseman holds regular outreach skin cancer screening clinics in rural locations in Manitoba, has been featured in many news stories, and regularly presents at meetings and congresses nationally and internationally.

RBeach.png

Dr. Renée A. Beach

Dr. Renée A. Beach is a dermatologist, board-certified by the Royal College of Physicians & Surgeons of Canada, and an Assistant Professor at the University of Toronto.

She completed her five-year dermatology residency (FRCPC) at the University of Ottawa after graduating from McMaster University with her medical degree.

At her clinic, DermAtelier on Avenue in Toronto, she offers expertise in evidence-based medical and cosmetic dermatology. 

Her commentaries on skin care have been featured in media such as the Globe and Mail, ELLE magazine and CTV’s The Social, and she strives to provide explanations and information that are inclusive across skin tones.

GSibbald.png

Dr. R. Gary Sibbald

Dr. R. Gary Sibbald, MD FRCPC (Med, Derm), MACP, FAAD, MEd, FAPWCA, is the founder and Executive Director of WoundPedia as well as the lead of Project ECHO Ontario Skin and Wound. He is a dermatologist and internist with a special interest in wound care and education. Dr. Sibbald is also a professor of medicine and public health at the University of Toronto.

As a wound care educator, clinician, and clinical researcher, he is an international wound care key opinion leader.

Dr. Sibbald is the co-founder (1999) and course director of the International Interprofessional Wound Care Course (IIWCC). He is the director of the Masters of Science in Community Health (Prevention and Wound Care) at the Dalla Lana School of Public Health at the University of Toronto, and an investigator with the Institute for Better Health, Trillium Health Partners.

Dr. Sibbald is the former president of the World Union of Wound Healing Societies 2008-2012. He is a co-editor and chapter author of the Chronic Wound Care textbook. He has over 200 publications and is the current co-editor in chief of the journal, Advances in Skin and Wound Care.

JRoesler.png

Dr. Jordanna Roesler

Dr. Jordanna Roesler is a UBC Dermatology Resident and member of Dene First Nation. She completed her MD at UBC and served as the VP of Indigenous Health for the UBC Medical Undergraduate Society. Dr. Roesler's clinical interests include medical dermatology, Indigenous dermatologic health, and social determinants of health.

JPerlmutter.png

Jonah Perlmutter

Jonah Perlmutter is a student in the biochemistry faculty at The University of Winnipeg. He is currently doing research on the role of reactive oxygen species in health and disease. His areas of interest in dermatology include Indigenous traditional medicines, hair loss disorders, and autoimmune skin disease. He has been published in these areas of interest. He has also worked with with Elders and Knowledge Keepers of the Nisichawayasihk Cree Nation to synthesize and distribute natural medicines to northern communities. Currently, he is working closely with Medicine People to better understand the mechanism of action of natural medicines with the hopes of publishing these findings in the literature.