SSS backgrounds (2).png
SoD 2022 Logo.png

August 17, 2022

7:00pm–8:30pm ET

In recognition of persistent gaps in dermatologic training as it pertains to skin of colour, the 2022 Summer of Dialogue colloquium, Focus on the Black Dermatology Patient, discussed topics in dermatology specific to Black patients and recent progress on advancing the inclusion of diverse skin tones in research and medical education.

 

It featured the second Dr. Mercy Alexis Keynote lecture, presented by Dr. Pearl Grimes, Director of the Vitiligo & Pigmentation Institute of Southern California, on the topic of “Gaps in Aesthetic Treatment for Richly Pigmented Skin.”

Meeting faculty included Dr. Andrew Alexis, Dr. Pearl Grimes, Dr. Yvette Miller-Monthrope, Dr. Erin Dahlke, and Dr. Renée A. Beach.

This 90-minute live discussion on Wednesday, August 17, 2022 examined the state of therapies, research, and education in dermatology for providing optimal care to Black patients.

Introduction

7:00pm EDT / 4:00pm PDT

Dr. Mercy Alexis Keynote Lecture sponsored by CeraVe
Gaps in Aesthetic Treatment for Richly Pigmented Skin

7:05pm EDT / 4:05pm PDT

Psoriasis in Patients with Skin of Colour

Dr. Yvette Miller-Monthrope

7:30pm EDT / 4:30pm PDT

Focus on the Black Dermatology Patient in Canada

Dr. Renée A. Beach

7:45pm EDT / 4:45pm PDT

Educating New and Existing Dermatologists on Optimal Care for Patients with Skin of Colour

8:00pm EDT / 5:00pm PDT

Optimal Treatment for Black Patients: Considerations, Approaches, and Best Practices – Q&A

8:10pm EDT / 5:10pm PDT

Conclusion

8:25pm EDT / 5:25pm PDT